The Best Things in Life Are Free

Today I learned that one of my favorite parts of my work day is going to the (public, usually disgusting) bathroom right after the older Filipino women go gargle with mouthwash after having their overly spiced lunches.

This may seem minor, but walking into a dark bathroom with tiles from the 1980’s with a fan so loud you can’t even hear yourself think, and smelling cool mint fill the air is weirdly satisfying. It’s also a nice change of pace from smelling an entire office complex’s “morning shit.”

Weird way to start a blog post. I know.

Bare with me as I sit at an empty desk with one assignment ahead of me that should normal take an hour, which I am trying to stretch out over the course of an entire day for the sake of having something to do.

As I’ve been browsing Craigslist recently, I have strongly considered becoming a day laborer. Or maybe a welder. Or a lumberjack?

I am still so lost, and the time is fast approaching when “finding your path in life” isn’t going to be cute anymore. In fact, I think it has already expired.

I had a job interview yesterday and felt so discouraged to see his face after telling him I am not bilingual nor do I have a lot of experience in Photoshop. I have a little, but clearly not enough because he has not called me back.

Positives: – I still have a job.

I might be losing weight. Too uninterested to actually weigh myself.

I paid all my bills and was STILL able to buy food. Win!

Aaaaand, as far as I know I am in pretty good health.

Negatives: Too many to list without sounding self-deprecating.

Every time my co-worker walks by my office, I have to panic and pretend I’m working.

Every time a truck drives by outside the office I look like a scared squirrel and have to remind myself that it was not an earthquake.

 

Finishing thought: Could be worse.

 

Leave a Reply

